Mountain Walking and more British understatement

Mountain walking, ha. More like mountain walking, jogging, scrambling, hoisting, sliding, crawling. Whoever said the British were given to understatement were guilty of understatement themselves. Usually, I find this habit adorable, amusing, charming, and humble (as in the habit of British people of any age or sex referring to elderly folks as “that young lady over there” or “this young gentleman here”), but in other cases (“It’s a bit of a walk. Just three miles each way, really. Or maybe five.”) I am less amused.

01-IMG_569202-IMG_5699As I ascended Tryfan mountain for Outdoor Pursuits, panting heavily and wondering why Netflix had seemed a better idea than going for a run last month, I was slightly terrified. Once we started semi-rock climbing over boulders that looked like they’d been left there by some Neolithic giant who could come back for them at any moment, I felt so far outside my comfort zone that I would’ve needed a map to get back in. Heights aren’t my thing, remember? The edge was so wonderfully steep…

09-IMG_57666-IMG_571505-IMG_5738

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once I reached the summit (one of my proudest accomplishments of this trip), I felt much better. I’d gotten that far, and I figured I could pretty much do anything, even go down the mountain. At the summit– a narrow area of boulders– the clouds decided to wrap Tryfan in a big foggy hug. Eating a quick lunch (we only had 10 min. at the summit so we could keep our body heat– at that point we were wearing every layer, hats, and gloves) between boulders, completely surrounded by a thick grayish cloud that blocked out the rest of the world, was a weird, cool experience.

03-IMG_5719

Adam and Eve rocks at the very top of Tryfan.

We turned around and exited off the mountain backwards like you would climb down a ladder (watching people go down this way, it looked like they were disappearing off the edge into nothingness), and it was all downhill from there. Ha, I kid. For a while it was mostly sliding feet first down rocks, but to pick the best route we had to go up, down, and sideways. Once the rocky part was over, we squelched through boggy ground, crossed a waterfall/vertical-ish stream, and walked down steep slopes.

7-IMG_5763 08-IMG_5761
12-IMG_5777 10-IMG_5771 11-IMG_5775 13-IMG_5787

Before you get too impressed with my mountain walking skills, I’ll be honest and say that we met a young gentleman celebrating his 74th birthday with one last walk up Tryfan. The whole group sang “Penblwydd hapus” (Happy birthday) to him on the way down!

1-IMG_5788

I liked the downhill parts, which gave me a chance to enjoy the view of Ogwen Valley. The climb walk was worthwhile for both the view and the sense of accomplishment I felt when it was over. Guys, I climbed to the top of a mountain!

1-IMG_5750

4 comments

  1. Don Harwood · · Reply

    Taylor What a great experience! You had me on the edge of my chair. I know you got down,as I received your letter. What fun you’re having in Wales. We are south of Tucson, Az enjoying the 70+ temp. So nice to keep up with your travels and EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE! :-) :-) Love ya Papo & Nano

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    1. Enjoy your time in AZ- I can’t remember what 70F feels like! Love you, Papo and Nano!

      Like

  2. Way to go! I have a deathly fear of heights, too. Looks absolutely awe-inspiring though!

    Like

    1. Thanks! It definitely was a mixture of awesome and scary!

      Like

Leave a Reply

